Contributing my atom of spirit to the human atmosphere.

Over the years I have thrown out, or given to the library, most of my favorite books. The reason I did this was because they had become too sacred to me. Each one was like a bible that I consulted whenever I had an insight or revelation.

I came to realize that I had a desperate need for validation and approval. And, that it was easier to let someone else speak for me. Rather than elaborating on my own ideas or writing my own books, I had enslaved myself to “self-chosen” elders who were always more knowledgeable, more erudite, wittier. I was satisfied with being a “second-hand” person, a lonely mimic who could never utter an original word.

For three years I even kept up a blog that was nothing more than cut and paste repostings of things other people said that I liked. I sent a link for this blog to a friend once and he said, “Where is your writing?” I felt silly. Yes, where was my writing?

A short time later, I got a job where writing blog posts was one of my responsibilities. I had to come up with original material and craft a story every week. Most of the stories were based on interviews I conducted with people in the community. The blog writing led to getting Op-Ed pieces and articles published in two local newspapers. Through the job I became a published writer. And the response I received to my writing was overwhelmingly positive.

Ira Progoff, in his book, At a Journal Workshop, speculated on what would happen if all the bibles in the world were destroyed. If this happened, he concluded, we would simply write more bibles.

“Spiritual contact, the awareness of the profounder meaning of life and the experience of its symbols, is an individual endeavor that can be carried through only in the silence of privacy. It is a work that each person has to do alone, but it is helpful to know that many of us are working alone together. It is helpful also to understand that we do not all have to hold the same beliefs in order for us each to contribute an atom of spirit to the human atmosphere.”

Writing on a blog has become my way of working alone, together. Thanks to all of you who have liked, visited or follow me.

6 thoughts on “Contributing my atom of spirit to the human atmosphere.

  1. Thank you for your blog. I found it today by accident. I hope you don’t mind but I referenced this entry on my Facebook page and included a link to it. Here is the entry I wrote “Some weeks ago, a friend asked me why I posted so many photographs on Facebook. I was taken aback by the question. I hadn’t examined my motivation very carefully and when asked the question I realized that I felt some embarrassment that people might feel I was posting too many photos. I’ve been sitting with that discomfort since then. Sometimes when I’ve thought about sharing a photo, my friend’s voice rattles around in my brain and I talk myself out of posting whatever I was considering posting. And then today I stumbled upon a blog “Aging Introvert” when I was looking for something else. Being an aging introvert, I was intrigued by the title of the blog and was drawn in. I read an entry titled, “Contributing my atom of spirit to the human atmosphere” and it ended with this quote: “Writing on a blog has become my way of working alone, together. Thanks to all of you who have liked, visited or follow me.” If I substitute “writing on a blog” with “Sharing my photographs” this sentence gets at why I post my photographs. By doing so, a private activity by an introverted photographer makes a connection with you that wouldn’t otherwise exist. Oh,dear Aging Introvert, someone ‘groks’ me.”

    Like

    1. I looked at your photos from Guatemala, amazing, I felt like I was there. Thank you for sharing my blog with others. A few months ago I showed my online portfolio to a friend who gave me negative feedback. I deleted almost everything and started over. Afterwards, I thought about how crazy it was to have given his opinion so much weight. Your photos are a treasure, share freely, and often!

      Like

      1. I’m so glad you liked the photos. Let’s make an aspirational pact: We’ll not let the comments by others that we hear as criticism interfere with our creative expression. Keep writing, share freely and often to you as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

